European Parliament removes Aung San Suu Kyi from list of Sakharov Prize winners

The European Parliament has officially removed Myanmar leader Aung San Suu Kyi from the list of Sakharov award winners, on the grounds that she ignored the massacres against the Rohingya Muslim community.

The decision was taken by the President of the European Parliament, David Sassoli, and the heads of political groups.

Aung San Suu Ski, who came to the forefront as an opposition figure to the government in Myanmar during the junta, is criticized for being ‘unresponsive to the attacks and massacres against the Rohingya community’ despite being in power.

In the written statement made by the European Parliament, it was stated that the European Parliamentarians reacted to the situation and that this was a ‘symbolic decision’.

The European Parliament awarded Aung San Suu Kyi the Saharov Prize in 1990.

European Parliament spokesman Jaume Duch wrote in his message on social media that the reason for the withdrawal of the award was “his ignorance and acceptance of the ongoing massacres against the Rohingya community”.

The European Parliament presents the Sakharov Prize every year to individuals or institutions that struggle in the field of human rights and democracy.

Aung San Suu also received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1991.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

mersin escort antalya escort bursa escort antalya escort istanbul evden eve nakliyat fethiye escort escort bayan